Tags

, , , , , ,

I am a late riser, which means you will see me scowl if you ring the bell of my house at 10:30 am. Seriously, who expects anyone to answer the door at that hour? This boy did. “Madam, myself Inacio. I have come from Health Department.” I can’t really say I woke up entirely when I heard him, but yes, I couldn’t go back to sleep after I closed the door on his face. “Myself Inacio”? “Come from Health Department”? What is wrong with the guy?

Actually, I can’t really blame him. Too many people use “myself” before they say their names. A friend too told me about this annoying phone call he got from someone who introduced himself as “Myself so and so”. What these people do not realize is, there is no chance of this sentence being correct. Ever.

See, “Myself” is a reflexive pronoun. This means that it is used only when the object of a sentence is the same as the subject. In other words, a reflexive pronoun refers back to the subject. They are used when:

1. The subject and the object are the same:

I hurt myself

2. The subject and the object are the same, they are used as the object of a preposition:

I baked the cake by myself.

3. To emphasize the subject:

I’ll call them myself.

So a simpler tip for this is, unless there is an “I” in the sentence, there can be no “myself” because reflexive pronouns need that subject to reflect. And just in case, if I am talking to you, I am the subject and you are the object.

Easy enough?

